The post of Chair of UCML falls vacant in summer 2018 (exact date to be decided). We are therefore calling for nominations of a suitably qualified person to this role: deadline 31 March 2018. The Nomination Form and Role profile can be found below. Please send your completed Nomination form to Naomi Segal on

The Chair of UCML chairs both the Steering Committee, which meets twice a year, normally online, and the Executive Committee, which meets twice a year, in person or online. Details of the membership of each can be found on and their roles are outlined in the Standing Orders:

UCML seeks to ensure a balance of sexes, regions and types of HEI (pre- and post-92) among the members of its Steering Group and Executive Committee.

UCML was founded in 1993 to represent the interests of modern languages, linguistics and cultural and area studies throughout the UK. Previous Chairs of UCML:

1992–1996        Professor Mike Kelly (Southampton: French)

1996–2000        Professor Richard Towell  (Salford: French)

2000–2004        Professor Hilary Footitt  (Reading: French)

2004–2008        Professor Roger Woods  (Nottingham: German)

2008–2011         Professor Pam Moores  (Aston: French)

2011–2014         Professor Jim Coleman  (Open University: French)

2014–2017         Jocelyn Wyburd  (Cambridge: Language Centre)

2017-2018         Professor Michael Gratzke  (Hull: German & Comp Lit)


Interested candidates are invited to consult the current Chair, Michael Gratzke, on


UCML Role profile CHAIR (final, of 15 Feb 2018)

UCML Nomination form CHAIR (final, of 15 Feb 2018)

Leave a Reply