The role of the UCFL Representative for Wales, currently Carlos Sanz Mingo (Cardiff University), is to make sure news on developments related to Modern Languages in Welsh Higher Education is shared with UCFL members. UCFL holds two meetings of its Executive Committee per year, usually in April and in November. Two plenary meetings are also held every year; they tend to be in January and July. Her role is also to pass on information discussed at these meetings to Welsh colleagues.

There are nine universities in Wales:
  • Aberystwyth University
  • Bangor University
  • Cardiff Metropolitan University
  • Cardiff University
  • Glyndŵr University
  • The Open University in Wales
  • Swansea University
  • University of South Wales
  • University of Wales Trinity Saint David

More information on Welsh universities can be found at

Other relevant organisations include:

HEFCW (Higher Education Funding Council for Wales)

Welsh Government: Global futures – a plan to improve and promote modern foreign languages in Wales

 Modern foreign language student mentoring

 Routes into Languages Cymru


For messages and activities for UCFL Wales, you may contact Carlos Sanz Mingo at